Marriage Reconsidered


I’ve been thinking of marriage lately, or more to the point the purposes of God behind it. So I guess in a way… I am reconsidering marriage. I started this reconsideration not because of the current redefinition of marriage, but rather because I am working on a wedding ceremony with a young couple. (Man and Woman)

As I reconsidered marriage I began to see more clearly a scriptural view point on marriage, and since the Bible is the rule of faith and conduct for all mankind, regardless of whether they accept it as such or not. (We do not decide the validity of the law of gravity but all of us on earth live under it’s rule, and so it is with God’s word). We do not have the right to decide it’s validity and all mankind live under it’s rule.

So with this in mind I began a thoughtful reconsideration of marriage in light of God’s word. I asked for guidance in prayer, and then started my journey. By the way it’s not finished, my journey I mean, I’m still reading, meditating, and praying for the ability to communicate what I’m learning.

So far I’m realizing that as Christians we often hold marriage in a low regard. because of this our views are often contrary to the intent and purposes of God’s for the marriage covenant. We leave the covenant of marriage as if it’s a temporary contract that can be forgotten, and done away with.

Yet, this is not God’s intent at all. As a matter of fact, It more often than not shows the hardness of our hearts toward God and His word.

I realize that divorce can be a complicated and messy issue. However, I also know that it is often easier to get a divorce than stay and work on the marriage. But this series is not about divorce per say. It’s more about God’s Biblical will for marriage.

I’m not sure how long this series will be, nor am I completely sure of what it will look like. I just feel the need to share some thoughts upon Marriage and God’s purpose for it, and then maybe…just maybe provide some insight and direction for those of us who want to reach for God’s best in our marriages.

Leave a Reply

