Growing up


I originally wrote this for about 83 friends of mine who belong to a men’s group on Facebook. I decided to re-post it here because I believe we need it. TGBTG

1 John 3:2 Dear friends, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet been revealed. We know that whenever It is revealing we will be like him, because we will see him just as he is.

I read the above verse and was reminded about something. I don’t know about you but I can remember thinking when I was a child. ” I can’t wait until I grow up.” I had no idea what I would look like, be like, or act like, yet I couldn’t wait for it.

John is telling us that in Christ we are little Children. He also say’s what we will be is not yet revealed. Just like when we were literal Children what we would become was yet to be revealed. We couldn’t rush growing up into adulthood then, and we shouldn’t rush our spiritual maturity now.

We need to learn spiritual maturity day by day, and not try to rush it. We can slow down and learn the lessons of growing in Christ once. Because the church is full of rushed growth people that are ineffective for the kingdom of God. They suffer, their families suffer, and the Church suffers.

I have advice for you. Grow up physically and be a mature adult, but spiritually don’t rush it. Go through every phase of your walk with Christ and allow our heavenly Father to develop into you the nature and character of Jesus Christ.

Then and only then will we see God just as He is

Scripture is quoted from NET Bible

Leave a Reply

