Thirty days with John


I’m doing a thirty day challenge that involves reading first John everyday for thirty days, and then posting your comments in a group on Facebook. I’ve also decided to post some of my thoughts here on my blog.
Well with a cup of coffee and my laptop’s help I just read 1 John. I saw a couple of things that stood out to me.

Here they are
In Chapter 1:5 “God is light, and in him there is no darkness at all. 1:6 If we say we have fellowship with him and yet keep on walking in the darkness, we are lying and not practicing the truth”.

And chapter 4:20 If anyone says “I love God” and yet hates his fellow Christian, he is a liar, because the one who does not love his fellow Christian whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen.”

Having read these things I’ve come to the conclusion that allot of us have a tendency to live in self deception. We deceive ourselves and live in the lie of self righteousness by the prideful denial of the struggle we have with personal sin. Seeing the sin in others but not ourselves is a serious problem we all face.

The next is our failure to love one another. John makes it very clear that our fellowship with God is inseparably linked to our love for each other. This is especially true in our homes. If we don’t start with our Wives and Children are we walking in the light?

Leave a Reply

