Skip the Beer


While watching a talk show one morning, I saw country music artist Thomas Rhett singing his song “Beer with Jesus”. As I listened to the words I couldn’t help think as he sang the chorus “You don’t have to wait for the answers to the questions you are asking, because Jesus answered them already.”  Allow me to parody how this conversation might go in a question answer format.

 Q: How’d you turn the other cheek, To save a sorry soul like me?  

A: Because I love you, Listen to my  word. John 3:16 “For this is the way 36  God loved the world: He gave his one and only 37  Son, so that everyonewho believes in him will not perish 38  but have eternal life. 39  3:17 For God did not send his Soninto the world to condemn the world, 40  but that the world should be saved through him.” My love for you drove me to turn the other cheek and lay down my life and pay the penalty you deserve.

 Q: Do you hear the prayers I send?

A: Yes, I do hear them especially the ones you whisper when you don’t think any one can hear. I hear your prayers, see your tears, and long to save your soul if you would only believe in me.

 Q: What happens when life ends?

A: That’s an easy one. When you die if you have believed in me as the Lord of your life repented of your sin (Repentance is turning from your sin and walking in my ways) then you join me in heaven. If not then you are judged for your sin an sent to hell. Again hear my word: John 3:18 “The one who believes in him is not condemned. 41  The one who does not believe has been condemned42  already, because he has not believed in the name of the one and only 43  Son of God”.

 Q: And when you think you’re comin’ back again?
A: I’m not telling you this. I am coming back so get your life right and be ready. Because after my return for the Church, and the 7 years of tribulation there will be no repentance and you will be eternally condemned. Mankind will be judged and punished for sin. My grace is here and now so repent and believe.

 Q: How’d you change a sinner’s heart?

A: I shed my blood and apply it to their hearts when they repent of their sin and believe in me. At that moment they become new! All of what they have done and what had been done to them is washed away and they are new creations! HAHA! Listen to my the words I spoke through Paul:  “So then, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; what is old has passed away 32  – look, what is new33  has come!” 2nd Corinthians 5:17 I love doing this! It’s so much fun!

 Q: And is heaven really just beyond the stars?

A: Don’t worry about where heaven is just worry about getting there.

 Q: What’s on the other side?
A: Heaven or Hell.

 

 Q: Is mom and daddy alright?

A: They are fine, they want you to be with them here.

 

 Q: And if it ain’t no trouble tell them I said hi.
A: No trouble at all.

The end.

I’m of course making up the end, however I believe Mr Rhett would be better off to skip the beer and pick up his Bible, and so would we.

Again this is a parody of what might take place during this supposed conversation. I take a strong stance, and believe Christians should not drink because of the appearance of evil it gives.

Leave a Reply

