Pools, Water Heaters, and Blown up Toilets!


You ever wonder “what were they thinking?” I do, I can’t help it. Working in retail for the last 13+ years, I’m amazed at what people will do.

Like the time a woman asked me to show her to the floor drains. She began explaining to me that she was tired of using a pump to drain her above ground pool to winter levels. So she decided that she would dig under it, cut the liner, put the drain in and seal the hole up with silicone. I began explaining to her that since it was July, and her pool was filled with water ,this is probably not the best idea, because the minute she cut her liner it would be ruined, and even if she was fast enough, and didn’t ruin her liner, we didn’t have any drains for that purpose. Did that stop her? Noooooooo! She simply didn’t believe me, and paid for the drain she was sure would work, and left.(The next day I found the drain covered in mud lying in the return area. Yep, she just had to do it her way!)

Or the guy that came to see me because he and a friend dropped some sort of large firecracker in the toilet and flushed it to see what would happen. Yep, you got it! He needed a new toilet.

My favorite, is the guy who called me asking about heating elements for his water heater and when I asked him for the wattage I heard him scream as he got shocked because he didn’t turn the breaker off. And after his cussing fit while looking for the phone he dropped, I managed to get the information I needed to help him.

I think there is a Proverb that fits here: “There is a way that appears to be right,
    but in the end it leads to death.” Proverbs 14:12

We can laugh at the stories I mentioned, because they are funny. However we shouldn’t laugh at the fact that we often see a way that seems right to us but in the end leads to death. So let’s seek direction and guidance before we drown, electrocute, or have no place to dispose of our… I think you get my point.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

