Punishment from God?


I was reminded recently of something God showed me years ago when one of my children broke his arm. We were in the ER, and I was quietly praying over him, crying out to God, telling Him how I wished I could take away my child’s pain. When a thought entered my mind, about God and mankind.

See I was helpless, and powerless to take away the pain and brokenness of my child. No matter how badly I wanted to I couldn’t heal him. I knew that the Doctor was coming, but the best he could do is set the arm and medicate the pain.I was grateful for that, but the feeling of helplessness was still there.

I realized right then something that has directed my prayer life for my unsaved friends and family members ever since. In some small way I was feeling what God must feel looking at the brokenness of humanity, and not being allowed to help.

See I was powerless to fix my broken child, and take away his pain. But that is not true with God! He isn’t powerless to fix our brokenness or take away our pain! In fact He has provided the Physician to do just that; Jesus Christ is that Doctor that came to set our brokenness right and heal our pain! Here is the  promise for wounded and broken humanity:

Isaiah 53:4-5
4 Yet it was our weaknesses he carried;
it was our sorrows* that weighed him down.
And we thought his troubles were a punishment from God,
a punishment for his own sins!
5 But he was pierced for our rebellion,
crushed for our sins.
He was beaten so we could be whole.
He was whipped so we could be healed.

So how about it? Will you allow the Great Physician to heal you and take your pain today?
Tyndale House Publishers. (2007). Holy Bible: New Living Translation (3rd ed.) (Is 53:4–5). Carol Stream, IL: Tyndale House Publishers.

Leave a Reply

