Cry Out


While reading the book of Daniel I was struck by the way he prayed in chapter 9.  I also realized that the way he prayed for his people and the way I pray for my people (BY people I am referring to citizens of the U.S.A) are  not the same. That’s not all though; I was struck at the similar way Nehemiah prayed in chapter 1 of Nehemiah.

The similarities are amazing and convicted me deeply. See like most Christians I have quoted 2 Chron 7:14 “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”  In Daniel and Nehemiah I saw what it meant to really put this into practice.

Daniel and Nehemiah prayed for their people by embracing and praying five principles that if embraced and practiced in prayer embody the above verse. I am going to list them and then over the next few blogs briefly comment on them. If you are a Christian and care about the United States of America then join with me and put these principles into action through prayer until God has answered our prayer. Here they are as I saw them.

1. Confess the greatness of God and His love for us.

2. Confess of our national sins.

3. Confess our personal participation in those sins.

4. Confess the fact that God is right and just in punishing us for those sins.

5. Confess that He has promised to restore the repentant, because He is the redeemer.

Please feel free to comment and share your thoughts, and the specific prayers you are praying for this nation as this blog series goes forward.  If you are not from the U.S. that’s fine, share how you are praying for your nation and people I would love to hear about it!

 

Leave a Reply

