Let Him do it


While reading and studying the gospel of John this account of the life of Jesus really stuck with me.

John 2:13-16

When it was almost time for the Jewish Passover, Jesus went up to Jerusalem. 14 In the temple courts he found men selling cattle, sheep and doves, and others sitting at tables exchanging money. 15 So he made a whip out of cords, and drove all from the temple area, both sheep and cattle; he scattered the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables. 16 To those who sold doves he said, “Get these out of here! How dare you turn my Father’s house into a market!”
NIV

While reading it I thought “Since 1 Corinthians describes me as the temple of the Holy Spirit, what tables do I have in my heart that I need Jesus to overturn?”  I believe that if we allow the Holy Spirit to search our hearts we will find there are tables that need overturned, and sinful thoughts and habits that we need Jesus needs to drive out.

These are the things that take away our ability to worship God. They are barriers we have that can interfere, hinder, and down right stop our ability to worship the way we should. Pride, self reliance, judgmental attitudes, selfishness, self pity, and self righteousness. These are the Money Changers behind the tables of vanity, lack of prayer, lack of reading the word, gossip, insisting upon your own way, false accusations, and more.

We need Jesus to overturn these tables, drive out the motives behind them and cleanse the temple of our hearts! I have been convicted of these thing and more. I have seen them in my own life, and if you are honest with me you will have seen them in yours. Join me in asking Jesus to cleanse the temple of our lives will you?

Leave a Reply

