The Holiness of God (The utterly perfect God.)


The utterly perfect God.

 

Ex 33:18-20

18 Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

19 And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. 20 But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.

NIV

 Ezra 9:15

Here we are before you in our guilt, though because of it not one of us can stand in your presence.”

NIV

Ps 5:5-6

The arrogant cannot stand in your presence;

you hate all who do wrong.

6 You destroy those who tell lies;

bloodthirsty and deceitful men

the Lord abhors.

NIV

 

Isa 6:5

5 “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.”

NIV

Because of the absolutely sinless perfection of God, man is unable to stand in

His presence.  The reality is that because God is holy, He hates sin and must condemn it  wherever He finds it.

God’s hatred of sin.

Ps 7:11-12

11 God is a righteous judge,

a God who expresses his wrath every day.

12 If he does not relent,

he will sharpen his sword;

he will bend and string his bow

NIV

Ezek 7:3-4

3 The end is now upon you and I will unleash my anger against you. I will judge you according to your conduct and repay you for all your detestable practices. 4 I will not look on you with pity or spare you; I will surely repay you for your conduct and the detestable practices among you. Then you will know that I am the Lord.

NIV

Rom 1:18-20

18 The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness, 19 since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. 20 For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities — his eternal power and divine nature — have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

NIV

Rom 2:8-10

8 But for those who are self-seeking and who reject the truth and follow evil, there will be wrath and anger. 9 There will be trouble and distress for every human being who does evil: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile;

NIV

Col 3:5-6

5 Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. 6 Because of these, the wrath of God is coming.

NIV

These verses cause us to ask the question. Who can stand in the presence of this Holy God? If we are sinful and can never enter the presence of this infinitely Holy God then who can?

Because we are all sinful from the moment of conception; It would take a sinless man in to stand in God’s presence. A man that was so absolutely perfect that no one, not even God could find any sin in him. Well the good news of the Gospel starts with such a man. That man is the sinless and perfect Lord Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

