How to be Innocent from great transgression


Ps 19:13

13 Keep your servant also from willful sins;

may they not rule over me.

Then will I be blameless,

innocent of great transgression.

               Here is how to be innocent from Great transgression. First we need to pray that God will keep us from it. For He can deliver us from all forms of evil; even the willful evil we choose to do. This Psalm called to mind the Lord’s Prayer, where Jesus teaches us to pray these words “Do not lead us into temptation, but deliver us from evil.” God through His Holy Spirit can warn us by pricking our conscience before we commit a willful sin, and thereby keeping us from its rule and “Great Transgression”.

Secondly, we cannot ignore or overstress the vital role that the word of God play’s in being free from the rule of willful sin, and great transgression against God. The psalmist in psalm 119 tells us this:  “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.” He also says that we need to hide the Word of God in our hearts so that we might avoid sinning against God “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” We must get the word into us and keep it there. We do this by reading it, studying it, and memorizing it. In my life I have found a simple rule to be true. People weak in the word, are weak in the power of the Holy Spirit, and People strong in the word are strong in the Power of the Holy Spirit.

Therefore prayer and the word are foundational to help keep us free from the rule of willful sins, and innocent of great transgression against God. There is no substitute for these two basic fundamentals of the Christian life.

Leave a comment