Overflowing


1 Thess 3:12-13

12 May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else, just as ours does for you.

NIV


               I wonder how many people who call themselves Christians overflow in their love for each other, and everyone else? Sometimes it seems that Love is absent in our lives, when Church’s split, people have unresolved conflict, and gossip is in my opinion the sin of the church. Paul though blesses the Thessalonians with the above blessing. He prays that their love wouldn’t just increase and overflow for each other, but also for everyone else! Love for people should be the hallmark of my life, and the life of the church.

I will take this verse and make it my prayer until I have this ever increasing, and overflowing love for my brothers, and sisters in the Lord and everyone else. This is what I see in Jesus deep, sincere, and overflowing love for people.

John 15:13

13 Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.
John 10:17-18

17 The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life — only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

NIV

He willingly gave his life for me, and you. Driven by an overflowing love He laid it down so that we can know the Father, love, and be loved in a way that we have never loved before. This is what Paul is blessing the Thessalonians with.

Holy Father,

Increase and overflow my love for people. Let me love them until I grieve over their sin and feel such a burden for them that I pray eagerly and diligently for them, and am motivated to show them and present to them the gospel of  Jesus Christ.

 

One response to “Overflowing

Leave a Reply

