I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t have done it like that! Part two


Bethlehem! What in the world is in Bethlehem? (Continued)

You know when I think about it, I don’t think I would have done it like that. Why Bethlehem when Jerusalem is just about twenty or thirty miles away?  Why proclaim it to Shepherds with little or no influence when you could proclaim it to the Scribes and Pharisees who could have turned out the nation?



   Come to think of it, why choose a virgin in a poor, no- name town like   Nazareth, when you could have chosen the virgin daughter of the high priest himself or perhaps the daughter of the wealthiest family in all of Israel! I mean Nazareth! Perhaps Andrew one of the disciples of Jesus said it best in John 1:46 “Nazareth! Can anything good come from there?” Nathanael asked.

I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t have done it like that.  Even after the Shepherds told everyone what they had seen, the people’s only response was to be amazed at what they were told.

Yet, there is something about the Christmas story that gives me pause. When I think about it I am reminded of the words of the prophet Isaiah… Isa 55:8-9

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

I know this Scripture, yet something about Christ’s birth seems foolish to the natural mind. Born of a virgin from Nazareth, born in Bethlehem, and proclaimed to Shepherds as Savior; the natural mind stumbles over the simplicity at what seems to be the foolishness of God.

Leave a Reply

