The wave


Recently I was thinking about the gospel, and how the gospel message is not just found in the New Testament. Rather it is a message that runs through out the entire Bible. It’s almost like a wave in the ocean. That has been building for miles before you see it.

The gospel is the same way. It had been building long before Matthew. We see the truth of it starting all the way back in Genesis.  It continues to build on through the Old Testament where we read verses like Isaiah 53, and

Psalms 22:14-18
14 I am poured out like water,
and all my bones are out of joint.
My heart has turned to wax;
it has melted away within me.
15 My strength is dried up like a potsherd,
and my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth;
you lay me in the dust of death.
16 Dogs have surrounded me;
a band of evil men has encircled me,
they have pierced my hands and my feet.
17 I can count all my bones;
people stare and gloat over me.
18 They divide my garments among them
and cast lots for my clothing.
NIV

Both powerful examples of what God was preparing to do.

The wave reached it’s crest in the New Testament but will not crash upon the shore until the second coming of Jesus. I stand amazed at the incredible blessing of the Gospel message of grace! I am in awe of a Holy God that took it upon Himself to do what we could not. Jesus came and took upon Himself our sin and the full wrath we deserve.

He did that for you and me. How can we not respond by sharing this good news with others!

Leave a Reply

