Jesus doesn’t care


Matt 15:1-12
               You knowwhat I am realizing more and more about Jesus. He doesn’t care if we getoffended over what He has to say. We clearly see this in Matthew 15. Jesusconfronted the Pharisee’s over their hypocrisy and went as far as pointing itout to the people.
               We seethe disciple’s response to His words in verse 12. Matt 15:12 Then the disciplescame to him and asked, “Do you know that the Pharisees were offended whenthey heard this
               Jesusdidn’t care! He offended them because they needed to be offended. He used God’sword to point out their sin. Here is what He said. Matt 15:7 You hypocrites!Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you: 8 “‘These people honor mewith their lips, but their hearts are far from me. 9 They worship me in vain; their teachings are but rules taught by men.’“NIV
               I see acouple of things that I feel are vital for me. The first is I need to beoffended by Jesus and the word of God. If that is what it takes to expose my hypocrisyand sin; then let me be offended. The second is my traditions are not God’s andare not a substitute for the directions given me in His word. No matter howmuch I enjoy them.
               Jesusdidn’t care about the hurt feelings of the Pharisee’s. If you read all ofchapter 15 you will see He didn’t care to hurt His disciples feelings either.He told the truth and pointed out their lack of faith. This gentle Jesus imagewe have today is more about political correctness than truth.
               I don’tknow about you, but I need a Jesus that is in my face pointing out my sin and hypocrisy.I need a Jesus that say’s Dan, where is your faith! Or quit playing around andget in the game. I need a Christ that confronts me with my sin!
               I maynot like it, I may even get my feelings hurt, but I need to be offended and ashamedover the sin that put him upon the cross. I am not perfect and have a long wayto go. But, I know that with this Jesus by my side I’ll get there a lot fasterthan with the Jesus that say’s “it’s ok I understand” That is not the Jesus Iwant! I want the Jesus that say’s “what are you doing?  You know that is sin. So Stop it!”
               Jesusloves us I have no doubt about that. I think that we confuse His love for us aspermission to live with sin in our lives. I don’t see that in scriptureanywhere. What I see is a God who went to war against the power of sin andSatan and won a tremendous victory over them both.
               He longsfor us to allow Him to speak truth to us. When we came to him for salvation andmade Him Lord of our lives. We gave up the right to live the way we want tolive, and decided to live the way He wants us to live. This is why we need aJesus that is confronting us with our faults and failures. His grace issufficient if we allow Him to be Lord.
Leave a Reply

