The Lure


I was deer hunting last year and decided that I would putout some doe in estrus scent on the side of this hill hoping to attract a bigbuck. What happened a couple of hours later blew me away.
               Sittingthere off to my right I heard a crashing sound like an animal jumping over thewash at the bottom. I looked and there was this six pointer walking and starringup at me.  He was in a really tight spotbetween a bunch of trees and saplings. I was pretty sure I could hit him so Iaimed and shot and…missed him! I hit one of the larger saplings!
Not what I shoot but you get the point
               I shoota muzzle loader and had to reload. (a muzzle loader loads like the guns in thecivil war) In the mean time the deer kept walking and looking up at me. Ireloaded while he went to a spot behind a root ball. I could still hit him, soI aimed and shot again. This time I hit the root ball because I didn’tcompensate for the angle of the hill.
               Thistime a little spooked he ran to a flat area and stood broadside while Ireloaded. I was in the process of doing that, when I hear another crash off tomy left. While I am reloading and watching the deer I glance that way and seean eight pointer looking up at me as the six goes up the hill out of range.
               Now, Istill have to finish loading my rifle. This deer in the mean time is walkingtoward me uphill at an angle. Watching me reload! (I guess he figured this guycan’t shoot) I reload and put in my primer and aim as he turns to look at thesix disappearing and BAM!!!!! I hit him right in the heart. (I kept thinking ofa Bon Jovi song “Shot through the heart and your to blame you give love a badname!!!!”) Sorry I’m a product of the eighties.
               Here isthe point. Both deer had become so focused upon the tempting smell that theydidn’t think about the potential consequence of their actions. Their passionswere in control of their mind and it cost one its life.
               We arethe same when we allow temptation to consume us. We can get so focused uponwhat is tempting us we forget about the danger and the consequences of ouractions. Before we now it we are devoured. 1 Peter 5:8-9
  Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowlsaround like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. 9 Resist him,standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout theworld are undergoing the same kind of sufferings.
NIV
               The bestadvice is when you first catch the scent of the lure, go the opposite way!
Leave a Reply

