How to pray for God to restore a nation.


Most Christians are familiar with 2 Chronicles 7:14 “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”
               I was preparing a message to share at a local church when, after reading this verse in 2 Chronicles, I went to Nehemiah’s prayer in chapter one of Nehemiah and Daniel’s prayer in chapter nine of Daniel. The Lord showed me five elements of prayer that restores a nation. It is my plan over the next few weeks to share them.
               My hope and prayer for us all is that we will begin to pray- really pray- for our nation’s healing. God is removing His hand of protection off America, and unless we learn to seek His face as Christians, we will not see Him heal our land.
               What is it worth to you? What is it worth to me for that matter! Will I, like the men in Matthew 13:44-45 give up all that I have in order to gain this treasure…this pearl of great price? What is the presence of the Holy Spirit moving through this nation convincing us of sin, the righteousness of God, and the coming judgment worth to me and you?(John 16:8).
               Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing what it will cost us to really pray for the healing of our nation. I really believe like the two men who found the priceless treasure and gave up the world in order to gain it, that we too are called to give up the world in order to gain the priceless pearl.
               Next week we will start with the first element of praying for the healing of our nation.
1. Confess the greatness of God and His love for us!
Neh 1:5
“O Lord, God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with those who love him and obey his commands,
Dan 9:4
“O Lord, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with all who love him and obey his commands,
               Take a little time this week and get into the prayers of Nehemiah and Daniel, and see for yourself the five elements of prayer that restores a nation.
Leave a Reply

